It’s 2014!

I can’t believe I went a year without blogging here.

The kids are going to turn 6 and 3 this year. Work-wise, I’m still doing the same thing, just in a different place, and my new colleagues are warm and friendly and easy to work with so far, much to my gratitude and relief. 2013 was a pretty hairy year, especially on the work front (which explains the move), and looking back on it I marvel that I was able to endure the way things were as long as I did. I guess you do what you need to do to survive.

Between keeping 2 energetic preschoolers out of trouble and clearing work that didn’t seem to end, I found neither time nor inspiration to write more stories about my SF characters. I barely played with them. One day I squeezed everything I owned into the Larchwood Lodge box and sat the house itself on top of the kids’ wardrobe to gather dust. I even gave away some items – the Christmas set, the Slydales, the Farthings, the Willow Hall conservatory extension and bits of furniture – to a colleague who has a little girl who loves them. I think I’ll end up giving away everything else to her.

Or maybe not. The Larchwood Lodge is too precious to give away. It’s not even available anymore except on eBay. And of course I’m going to keep my vintage pink-nosed black McBurrows moles. I house them in ‘apartments’, like this:

mole family in apartment

This way, I only need to furnish two rooms and the glass ‘window’ keeps the dust away.

Here are top views of the rooms:

kitchen

living room

Aren’t they just adorable?

5 responses to this post.

  1. Hey,

    I just love the mole family (sadly, I still hadn’t buy them for myself yet) and I’m totally charmed by your mole “apartements”. It’s such a cute idea.
    I hope, you’ll keep your blog- I really like it, even, if I’d just discover ist :-D.

    Many greetings,
    Kyra

    Reply

  2. Thanks for visiting! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Hi there,
    when I first visited your blog November last year, I was so disappointed to see that you were no longer writing your excellent stories. But now…I would love to read some more tales and I was wondering if you could add my site to your blogroll: sylvanianvillage.weebly.com
    Thanks,
    MW

    Reply

  4. Cute! I really like the moles!

    Reply

  5. Always sad to have to downsize a collection; nevertheless that little cupboard you house your McBurrows is the cutest storage thing I’ve ever seen!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

